Our Board

Our Board sets high standards of corporate governance to make sure we operate a sustainable profitable business on behalf of our owner, the State of Tasmania. 

As well as overseeing the finances, the Board sets our strategic direction and develops and monitors corporate policy and risk management policies and procedures.

Grant Every-Burns, Chairman  

Grant Every-Burns was appointed Chairman of Hydro Tasmania in October 2014. Before that, he was a non-executive Director of Hydro Tasmania for two years. 

Grant has over 40 years’ experience in the operation and maintenance of large power generation facilities and has an honours degree in Electrical Engineering. From 1996 to 2011 he was Chief Executive and Managing Director of Macquarie Generation, Australia’s largest electricity producer. 

He has previously held directorships of the National Safety Council of Australia and the Energy Association of Australia. 

He holds an Honours degree in Electrical Engineering and is a Fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Grant Every-Burns
Steve Davy

Stephen Davy, CEO 

Steve Davy was appointed Chief Executive Officer in September 2013 and has been with Hydro Tasmania since 2005.  

Steve is Chairman of Hydro Tasmania’s mainland retail business, Momentum Energy, selling electricity on mainland Australia and on the Bass Strait islands.  

He has previously served as Chair of the Australian Financial Markets Association Environmental Products Committee, and is a Director of the Australian Energy Council. 

Carlo Botto, Director 

Carlo Botto was appointed to the Hydro Tasmania Board in July 2018.

He brings 35 years’ experience in the energy supply industry in Australia and North America. He has held senior executive positions responsible for wholesale trading, retail marketing, corporate strategy and risk management.

Earlier in his career, as an electrical engineer, Carlo worked extensively with Snowy Hydro in New South Wales and Victoria.

He is currently an advisory board member of the ACT Government Renewable Energy Innovation Fund, a director on various renewable energy company boards.

Carlo Botto
Ken Hodgson

Ken Hodgson, Director 

Ken Hodgson was appointed to the Hydro Tasmania Board in June 2016. 

He has extensive experience across the financial services and energy sectors; he spent 28 years working at Westpac and National Australia Bank primarily in their retail banking divisions, including the roles of General Manager, Consumer Financial Services at NAB and General Manager, Personal Financial Services at Westpac.  

After his successful career in financial services, Mr Hodgson moved to the energy sector, becoming Group General Manager Retail Energy for AGL Energy Limited where he had overall responsibility for developing AGL's extensive customer base across the eastern states and South Australia.  

Ken is currently Chairman of Members Equity Bank Limited, where he has been a Director since January 2012.

Samantha Hogg, Director 

Samantha Hogg was appointed to the Hydro Tasmania Board in August 2015. 

She brings 25 years of experience in executive management across the resources and infrastructure sectors, and broad Australian and international experience in finance, marketing and strategic projects. 

Her most recent executive role was as Chief Financial Officer of Transurban through a period when the business grew to become a top 20 ASX company. 

Samantha is a fellow of the Australian Institute of Company Directors.

Samantha Hogg
Selina Lightfoot

Selina Lightfoot, Director 

Selina Lightfoot was appointed to the Hydro Tasmania Board in July 2018.

With more than 25 years’ experience in the legal sector including 10 years as a partner at the national law firm Herbert Smith Freehills she has a strong background in problem solving and achieving commercial outcomes in complex environments.

Selina graduated from the University of Tasmania with a Bachelor of Arts/Law in 1991 and completed the AICD Company Director's course in 2001.

She currently holds non-executive director roles across a range of industries, including two ASX listed companies: technology services provider DWS Limited, and retailer The Reject Shop Limited.

Board committees

Board committees guide us on governance issues and make informed recommendations for the Board’s consideration and approval. All committees meet at least twice a year.

There are three committees: 

Audit Committee 

Members: Samantha Hogg (Chair), Grant Every-Burns, Selina Lightfoot

View the committee’s responsibilities in the Audit Committee Terms of Reference


Risk Management Committee 

Members: Carlo Botto (Chair), Grant Every-Burns, Samantha Hogg and Stephen Davy 

View the committee’s responsibilities in the Risk Management Committee Terms of Reference

Human Resources, Remuneration and Safety Committee 

Members: Ken Hodgson (Chair), Grant Every-Burns, Samantha Hogg, Selina Lightfoot and Stephen Davy 

View the committee’s responsibilities in the Human Resources, Remuneration and Safety Committee Terms of Reference

Template_governance_structure_web_September 2018
© Hydro-Electric Corporation 2019